News:

Welcome to week4paug.net 2.1 - same as it ever was! Most features have been restored, but please keep us posted on ANY issues you may be having HERE:  https://week4paug.net/index.php/topic,23937

Main Menu

Yes I have a Mac, where to go from here...

Started by whatapiper, May 23, 2009, 01:08:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

whatapiper

im still new to my mac and want to know what everyone uses for...

compressing files (i have xACT)
download manager (Vuze)
player for shn/flac (Play and Cog)
burning/archiving (toast titanium)
organization

basically my family and work takes up most free time so everything must be efficient.   i enjoy xact just fine and vuze is great as well, where i have issues is with "play" and "cog." i dont particularly like either of those, play is just ridiculous imo and cog ok, its a pain to add/remove files it seems.   toast works great so far except an initial corrupt download when i first bought.
as for organization im lost, everything seemed easy on a pc and now i have a mess!   dragging files is a pain and renaming for itunes is a major nuisance.   any suggestions?

also, my mouse decided to stop scrolling down with the ball and will only scroll up when at the bottom of the page.  i have messed around with the mouse settings with no luck.

We are all and we are all we are
Far flung bits of Sun and bits of Stars
From the  ocean from the land from the
beginning to end
Backwards forwards back toward
we belong

jephrey

xACT is good
Vuze is ok, but Transmission is much simpler like uTorrent. 
SHN/FLAC playback...  I don't play them back in those formats - I use toast titanium to convert to apple lossless and dump into itunes.
organization is an open-ended thing.