News:

Welcome to week4paug.net 2.1 - same as it ever was! Most features have been restored, but please keep us posted on ANY issues you may be having HERE:  https://week4paug.net/index.php/topic,23937

Main Menu

laptop recomendations

Started by adavem, May 28, 2008, 07:16:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adavem

i cant afford a mac..any other recomendations?i have about $800.00 to spend

antelope19

I have had my Dell Inspiron for about 4 years now and haven't had any issues so far.  Although, I will say I need to upgrade the RAM.  But that's because I was a cheapskate and didn't get what I should have when I bought the thing.  My roomate just went to Best Buy and got himself a very nice Toshiba laptop.  The thing is super fast.  I will say that you should take a trip to your local office depot only because they always have "open box" items and other computers that they are trying to get rid of at reduced prices.  Good Luck in your search. 

EDIT:  I am no computer expert.  I am sure some of the other guys can tell you more.  I like what I have, but my needs from a computer are very minimal. Word processing, spreadsheets, music DL, and surfing the 'paug.  :-)
Good judgment comes from experience, and a lotta that comes from bad judgment

mattstick

I like these Lenovo Thinkpad laptops, if you have to buy a Windows machine.

http://shop.lenovo.com/ca/en/landing_pages/promotions/ecoupon?cid=ca|semd|ggl|ca_brand_general_ec_en|t6|s&&s_kwcid=lenovo|1446879632

While it's not a laptop you can get a Mac Mini for under $800, and you use your current keyboard/mouse/monitor.

Caravan2001

I'd say scrape it togtether for an i-book.  If you are a student (or know one), you can get a decent discount, plus they give you an ipod, which you can sell. 

If not, I paid $800 for my Dell Inspiron two years ago, and it is nice and small (12 or 13"), and the only problem I have ever had with it is that it runs windows, not OSX  :-P

jephrey